Dove Shampoo Review

by Madhurya
(INDIA)

PLEASE DO READ THE WHOLE THING, IT'S VERY IMPORTANT...I BEG YOU ALL!

I bought 2 bottles of DOVE, trusting my friends. They said that it works,and actually repairs your hair. I have dry, curly hair and my hair is prone to split ends due vigorous brushing. I thought dove shampoo would repair my hair but it didn't. It made my hair more worse. Why? because it contains a chemical called sodium laureth sulfate, a detergent, used to clean floors or wash car engines. Our skin will become flaky and hair will get damaged if it is used on hair. It is very harsh.

I'm not the only one saying it. 1000's of people are. All the top brands contain SLS and can cause health problems like cancer. so please use ONLY HERBAL PRODUCTS ON YOUR HAIR. Don't take any chances.

EDITOR'S NOTES:

Thank you Madhurya for your review.

Sodium laureth sulfate is a gentler version of the very commonly used detergent sodium lauryl sulfate. (The names are just too similar aren't they?). It is less irritating and milder but it is a detergent none-the-less and many women find it dries the hair so I am not surprised by your comments.

From what I can tell there are still more studies to be made about the health issues from using products made with sodium laureth sulfate. My greatest concern with this ingredient is whether it is contaminated by 1,4 dioxine which is believed to be a carcinogen. Check out 1,4 dioxane for more information.

Take a look at the ingredients below:


Dove Energize Go Fresh Therapy Shampoo

Water - Aqua, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Fragrance - Parfum, PPG-9, Polyquaternium-10, Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Yellow 5 - CI 19140, Yellow 6 - CI 15985


This product contains some synthetic ingredients that I would not want in my products such as the unknown fragrance or DMDM Hydantoin to name a few. The Skin Deep Database rates this product as being of moderate safety based on the average rating of all ingredients.

The Skin Deep Database is a wonderful resource that I find to be extremely helpful and I use it as a tool to help me make a decision. I have found that for me it is more beneficial to decide about a product based on individual ingredient findings rather than the product rating.

The Database also says "according to PETA this company conducts animal tests". You know which products I like to use? The ones that say people tested only. It tells me that a company knows their ingredients are safe and they don't need to test something out on some poor animal first to find out.

Comments for Dove Shampoo Review

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 13, 2015
Security Guard Companies NEW
by: Anonymous

Security Services in Los Angeles - Selecting a security service that’s reliable and affordable can seem like a formidable task. In populous areas like Los Angeles, the challenge of locating a reputable security company without breaking the bank may intimidate interested clients. With the proper criteria in place, however, you can select from among the many security services in Los Angeles to find a dependable solution for your security needs.


Oct 27, 2015
Nice NEW
by: Phil

Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers? http://www.omniglot.com/language/articles/internationalnegotiations.htm

Oct 16, 2015
nice post NEW
by: clark

This Dove Shampoo Review is very nice post for me. the writer gives us much information about that keep it up harlem place furniture

Oct 16, 2015
information about that NEW
by: clark

The Dove Shampoo Review is very nice post I read it and gain more information about that. thanks for this nice post keep it up sticker printing machine

Sep 25, 2015
Dove Shampoo Review NEW
by: Anonymous


We're a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

Alex


May 27, 2015
dove shampoo NEW
by: Richard c

i used all dove products right from the start,but i found when they changed the shampoo from normal to light whight{fly away},it did nothing but made my scalp itch,and my hair went very staticky and horrible dry, so as result i've stopped using dove alltogether.wich is a shame because i loved dove as it suited my skin type dry.

Aug 14, 2014
Dove is the best NEW
by: Anonymous

Once I started using Dove I was hooked. :) love it. I know it doesn't work for everyone, but it's worth a try.

Mar 17, 2012
harsh shampoo
by: Arti

i am fed with all shampoos every shsmpoo makes my hairs dry.

Nov 09, 2011
Dove is not good for the scalp
by: Anonymous

I also tried the Dove shampoo ,treatment and conditioner. Now I suffer from dry scalp with flaky patches that itch and the area is red and bumpy patches all over my scalp. NOT a good product at all, it also starts after 'n couple of washes so be warned

Sep 16, 2011
Energize Therapy
by: Anonymous

I recently tried the newly formulated Energize shampoo with lemongrass. It seems to have the same fragrance and formula. I like it so far. The ingredient list is short and it doesn't appear to have a lot of heavy conditioners like dimethicone and the like. It acts almost like a clarifying shampoo. I pair it with Suave Tangerine conditioner (cone free) and it matches in scent. I want it simple: clean hair, no residue, light fragrance, clear formula. I don't go for heavy moisturizing products. This one is clear and light. Anyone else actually like Dove? I tried using "natural" soaps but they made me itchy and greasy. So I went back to my evil, unnatural regimin and my skin returned to normal. I can't tolerate the "essential oils" and castile stuff. It just makes me break out.

Aug 15, 2011
Dove shapmpoo
by: Anonymous

Well I used to use another brand and when using it I hadn't had split ends in 4 years well they discontinued the kind moisture works in that brand so I tried DOVE moisture works and I haven't even gotten through the first bottles of shampoo and conditioner and my hair is frizzy it feels like hay and I have of coarse SPLIT ENDS! I should have never tried this product

Jun 28, 2011
Please change the expression THERAPY
by: Anonymous

Unfortunately because of the word THERAPY Dove Shampoo may not be sold in Switzerland

Jun 15, 2011
Not a fan
by: Anonymous

I am ashamed to admit that I was a fan of DOVE products, but I agree that the hair products are very drying. The conditioner, that I used mostly, had a soft feel on my hair but when washed out left it really crunchy. I have kinky curly hair.

May 14, 2011
eco friendly homemaking
by: eco friendly homemaking.com

We all have to become label readers. It is so important to know what are in the products we are using.

May 13, 2011
Totally agree! :o)
by: Emily Patterson

Hi! Thank you so much for your post. There's also neurotoxins, asthmagens and obesigens in there. And, which one causes birth defects, low sperm count, increases the risk of breast cancer? Did you guess? Fragrance - parfum! Ahh, gotta love phthalates - well, the pharmaceutical industry loves phthalates. Check out my new Johnson and Toxin, I mean Johnson and Johnson ad at my Sunflower Naturals web site. Just www, the biz name and dot com. Have a great day!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Natural Product Review.



Subscribe to this
site's feed.









facebook badge



Help me grow this site. If this site has been helpful to you please share it.
Thank You!!
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact | Disclaimer and Disclosure |

Copyright© 2006-2012 Natural Living For Women